Good Governance

The Key to Democracy

In various areas, poorly performing and insufficiently transparent administrative structures adversely affect Afghanistan. Government institutions are partially weak and frequently characterised by corruption, arbitrariness and personal interests. Many public employees are in need for further training and capacity development. In addition, the Afghan state is highly dependent on external financial support. Many of the services provided by public institutions rely on support from externally funded consultants. Non-state power holders, informal processes and corruption further limit the effectiveness of the state’s institutions.

The government is also confronted with ethnic, religious and tribal groups’ demands for greater political, economic and cultural participation. In some places, the lack of confidence in the ability of the Afghan government to take effective action increases the risk of parallel structures emerging.

The German government is therefore assisting Afghanistan to develop its administrative bodies and state structures. The focus is on fighting corruption, training and qualifying administrative staff in the proper provision of services for citizens, thereby boosting public confidence in government bodies.

For further information about our work in the priority area of good governance, please see the project descriptions and the ‘Stories’ section.

Our work in this sector

Legal Certainty for all Citizens Since 2002, the German Government has been working with the Netherlands and Finland to assist Afghanistan with developing an effective justice system. While significant progress has already been made, there is still more work to be done to guarantee the rule of law for citizens in rural and urban areas alike. more
Reforms for an Effective and Trustworthy State In order to make public administration more effective in the long term and prevent corruption, the German Government is supporting reform processes in Afghanistan, providing experts to assist the Afghan institutions with this work. This benefits the administrative staff and citizens alike. more
Strong local government structures to stabilize northern Afghanistan In order to strengthen local governance structures at district level and at the same time improve living conditions for Afghanistan’s rural population, the German Government is supporting the necessary capacity development measures and smaller infrastructure initiatives in Afghanistan. more
Public Authorities as Pillars of Society In order to boost the Afghan citizens’ confidence in the public administration, the German Government is supporting the expansion of state structures and the provision of professional training to staff, especially in rural areas. more
Transparently Planning and Implementing Development Measures In Afghanistan, responsibility for providing access to infrastructure and basic services rests with the provincial administrations. The German Government is assisting them to implement infrastructure measures in Northern Afghanistan, make processes more plannable and implement measures as effectively as possible on an independent basis. In this way, it is helping to promote socio-economic development among the Afghan population. more
Progress Achieved through the Afghanistan Reconstruction Trust Fund Germany is one of the principal donors to the Afghanistan Reconstruction Trust Fund which is managed by the World Bank. The German contribution to the programme amounts to EUR 80 million in 2017 and is currently funding a wide range of development measures. Financial processing is carried out via the state budget and should help the Afghan Government to transparently manage budgetary funding, generate its own revenue and implement budget funding with the greatest possible development focus and in line with national priorities. more
Sustainable Mining for Economic Growth The Afghan mining sector offers great economic potential which could significantly boost growth in the country. In order to fully leverage this potential, the German Government is assisting Afghan actors to make mining activities transparent and conducive to innovation in the long term. more
Youth for Peace In order to drive the peaceful development of Afghan society and thereby create future prospects for the population, the German Government is assisting the Civil Peace Service with breaking the prevailing cycles of violence in Afghanistan. more
Integrated Experts in Afghanistan In order to improve the management skills of Afghan Government ministries, key institutions and administrative bodies, the German Government is assisting with the placement of integrated experts on the Afghan labour market. more
Discussion Platform for Good Governance: Govern4Afghanistan In order to promote greater sharing of knowledge on good governance matters and thereby support the qualitative expansion of state structures in Afghanistan, the German Government has joined forces with Afghan partners to launch the discussion platform and think-and-do tank Govern4Afghanistan . more

Our stories

Twitter icon
Facebook icon

Gute Regierungsführung

Schlüsselfaktor Gute Regierungsführung

Afghanistan leidet unter ineffektiven und intransparenten Verwaltungsstrukturen. Sind die Kapazitäten der staatlichen Akteure schon auf nationaler Ebene schwach und häufig von Korruption, Willkür und Einzelinteressen geprägt, so sind sie auf der Provinz- oder Distriktebene vielerorts kaum vorhanden. Mitarbeiter und Mitarbeiterinnen staatlicher Institutionen sind oft unzureichend ausgebildet. Der afghanische Staat ist außerdem noch in hohem Maße von externer finanzieller Unterstützung abhängig. Viele Leistungen von staatlichen Institutionen basieren auf der Unterstützung durch extern finanzierte Beraterinnen und Beratern. Verbesserungen und soziale Dienste werden deshalb häufig als Leistung der internationalen Gemeinschaft wahrgenommen und nicht als staatliche Dienstleistung. Nichtstaatliche Machthaber, inoffizielle Prozesse sowie Korruption schränken die Effektivität staatlicher Institutionen weiter ein.

Die Regierung ist zudem mit Forderungen ethnischer, religiöser und tribaler Gruppen nach größerer politischer, wirtschaftlicher und kultureller Teilhabe konfrontiert. Auch fehlt Vertrauen in die Handlungsfähigkeit der afghanischen Regierung. Das erhöht die Gefahr von Parallelstrukturen.

Die deutsche Bundesregierung unterstützt Afghanistan deshalb bei der Entwicklung seiner Verwaltungsorgane und staatlichen Strukturen. Dabei gilt es, Korruption langfristig zu bekämpfen, Verwaltungsfachkräfte darin fortzubilden, Dienstleistungen für Bürgerinnen und Bürger ordnungsgemäß zu erbringen, und dadurch das Vertrauen der Bevölkerung in die staatlichen Organe zu stärken.

Nähere Informationen zu unserer Arbeit im Schwerpunkt Gute Regierungsführung finden Sie unter den Projektbeschreibungen und den „Geschichten “.

Unsere Arbeit im Schwerpunkt

Fortschritt durch den Treuhandfonds für Wiederaufbau Die Bundesrepublik Deutschland ist einer der größten Geldgeber des Treuhandfonds für Wiederaufbau für Afghanistan, der durch die Weltbank verwaltet wird. Das Programm hat 2016 ein Volumen von 70 Millionen Euro und fördert aktuell eine Vielzahl von Entwicklungsmaßnahmen. mehr
Rechtssicherheit für alle Bürgerinnen und Bürger Seit 2002 unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung mit Beteiligung der Niederlande und Finnlands Afghanistan dabei, ein effektives staatliches Justizsystem aufzubauen. Obwohl bereits bedeutende Fortschritte erzielt werden konnten, besteht noch Handlungsbedarf, um Bürgerinnen und Bürgern Rechtsstaatlichkeit zu gewähren – auf dem Land ebenso wie in städtischen Gebieten. mehr
Reformen für einen effektiven und vertrauenswürdigen Staat Um die öffentliche Verwaltung langfristig effektiver zu gestalten und Korruption vorzubeugen, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung Reformprozesse in Afghanistan und stellt dabei den afghanischen Institutionen Fachexpertinnen und -experten zur Seite. Davon profitieren sowohl die Verwaltungsfachkräfte selbst als auch Bürgerinnen und Bürger. mehr
Starke lokale Regierungsstrukturen zur Stabilisierung Nordafghanistans Um lokale Strukturen der Regierungsführung auf Distriktebene zu stärken und gleichzeitig die Lebensbedingungen der afghanischen Bevölkerung in ländlichen Gebieten zu verbessern, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung die dafür notwendige Entwicklung von Kapazitäten sowie kleinere Infrastrukturmaßnahmen in Afghanistan. mehr
Staatliche Organe als Stützpfeiler der Gesellschaft Um das Vertrauen der afghanischen Bürgerinnen und Bürger in die staatliche Verwaltung zu stärken, fördert die deutsche Bundesregierung den Ausbau staatlicher Strukturen und die professionelle Ausbildung der Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter – besonders auf dem Land. mehr
Entwicklung transparent planen und verwirklichen Infrastrukturmaßnahmen zur Verbesserung der sozioökonomischen Grundlagen der afghanischen Gesellschaft und Planungsmechanismen für lokale Verwaltungs- und Staatsorgane schaffen mehr
Nachhaltiger Bergbau für Wirtschaftswachstum Der afghanische Bergbausektor birgt große Wirtschaftspotenziale, die das Wachstum des Landes stark ankurbeln könnten. Um diese voll auszuschöpfen, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung afghanische Akteure dabei, den Abbau langfristig innovationsfördernd und transparent zu gestalten. mehr
Jugend für den Frieden Um eine friedliche Entwicklung der afghanischen Gesellschaft voranzubringen, die der Bevölkerung Zukunftsperspektiven eröffnen kann, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung den Zivilen Friedensdienst in Afghanistan dabei, vorherrschende Gewaltspiralen zu durchbrechen. mehr
Fachkräfteintegration in Afghanistan Um die Managementfähigkeiten afghanischer Fachministerien, wichtiger Institutionen und Verwaltungsorgane zu erhöhen, unterstützt die deutsche Bundesregierung die Vermittlung Integrierter Fachkräfte in den afghanischen Arbeitsmarkt. mehr
Diskussionsplattform Gute Regierungsführung: Govern4Afghanistan Um Kenntnisse im Bereich der guten Regierungsführung verstärkt auszutauschen und somit den qualitativen Ausbau staatlicher Strukturen in Afghanistan zu unterstützen, hat die deutsche Bundesregierung gemeinsam mit afghanischen Partnern die Diskussionsplattform sowie den Think-and-do-tank Govern4Afghanistan ins Leben gerufen. mehr

Aktuelles

19.07.2017 | Pressemitteilung
10.07.2017 | Pressemitteilung

Geschichten