On behalf of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ), the German Cooperation with Afghanistan is active in three priority areas: good governance (rule of law, political participation and public administration), economic development and employment (including vocational training) as well as communal infrastructure and urban development (including energy, drinking water supply and wastewater treatment). Efforts also focus on expanding primary and secondary education.

On behalf of the German Federal Foreign Office (AA), the German Cooperation with Afghanistan is also active in the fields of stabilisation (building up the police force, supporting state structures and civil society) and humanitarian aid (supporting internally displaced people and returnees as well as humanitarian mine clearance). Aid projects for Afghan refugees in Pakistan and Iran are also supported.

Promoting the interests of women and girls is a cross-cutting task that is anchored in all measures of BMZ and AA.

Regionally, the German Cooperation with Afghanistan currently focuses on the provinces Badakhshan, Baghlan, Balkh, Kunduz, Samangan and Takhar as well as the capital Kabul. In future, the aim is to expand cooperation with other provinces such as Herat.

The following pages provide further information on all priority areas and examples of projects of the German Cooperation with Afghanistan.

Im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) engagiert sich die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan in drei thematischen Schwerpunkten: gute Regierungsführung (Rechtsstaatlichkeit, politische Teilhabe und öffentliche Verwaltung), Wirtschafts- und Beschäftigungsförderung (inklusive Berufsbildung) sowie kommunale Infrastruktur und Stadtentwicklung (inklusive Energie, Trinkwasserver- und Abwasserentsorgung). Auch der Ausbau der Grund- und Sekundarbildung ist Bestandteil des Engagements.

Im Auftrag des Auswärtigen Amts (AA) engagiert sich die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan in den Bereichen Stabilisierung (Polizeiaufbau, Unterstützung staatlicher Strukturen sowie der Zivilgesellschaft) und humanitäre Hilfe (Unterstützung für Binnenvertriebene und Rückkehrer sowie für humanitäres Minenräumen). Darüber hinaus werden Hilfsprojekte für afghanische Flüchtlinge in Pakistan und Iran unterstützt.

Die Förderung der Belange von Frauen und Mädchen ist als Querschnittsaufgabe in allen Maßnahmen des BMZ und des AA verankert.

Regional konzentriert sich die deutsche Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan aktuell vorwiegend auf die Provinzen Badakhshan, Baghlan, Balkh, Kunduz, Samangan und Takhar sowie die Hauptstadt Kabul. Perspektivisch wird die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Provinzen wie zum Beispiel Herat ausgebaut.

Im Folgenden finden Sie weiterführende Informationen zu allen Schwerpunkten sowie Projektbeispiele der deutschen Zusammenarbeit mit Afghanistan.